Any person four years of age or older who resides in Rainbow City or Etowah County will be issued a free library card. Proof of residency must be shown at the time of application. Verification of address may be shown through:
- A valid Alabama driver's license
- Personalized checks, along with identification
- Valid documents (rent receipts, utility bills, etc.)
Children must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, whose identification will substitute for the child's. The first time a card is used, patrons are limited to two items. Playaway Launchpads may not be checked out the same day a card is issued. When the first items are returned (no earlier than the following day), the patron may check out the normal limit. Patrons are responsible for all use of their Library card. The library should be notified as soon as possible if a card is lost or stolen. A $2.00 replacement fee will be charged for lost cards. Parents may pick up cards for their minor children, but all other cards must be picked up by the patron to whom the card is issued.
Alabama residents who do not live in Etowah County may be issued a free library card provided the person meets at least one of the following conditions:
- The person is employed full-time in Etowah County (may require verification in the form of a letter from the employer on company letterhead, paycheck stub, or company ID).
- The person is enrolled in an Etowah County school (public, private, or college); proof of enrollment or a valid student identification card may be required for adult cards, parental verification is acceptable for K-12 students.
- The person owns property in Etowah County (verified through current property tax receipt from Etowah County).
Spouses and minor children who reside in the same household as a person eligible for a free card are also eligible for a free card. Other relatives or individuals residing in the household are not eligible for a free card.
Verification of eligibility must be confirmed once a year when the library card expires.
Alabama residents who meet none of the eligibility requirements for a free card may be issued a card provided they show positive ID with their current home address and pay an annual non-refundable $10.00 out-of-county fee. The non-resident designation will be noted on the patron’s record. The out-of-county fee covers the individual’s spouse and minor children residing in the same household. Other relatives or individuals residing in the household are not covered by this fee.
For the purposes of the non-resident policy, minor children are those age 18 & under or those still enrolled in high school.
Loan Periods & Fines
|Material Type||Circulation Period||Fine Per Day/ Per Item||Maximum Fine Per Item|
|Launchpad Tablets||14 days||$1.00||$10.00|
Borrowing privileges are suspended until overdue materials are returned and fines are paid.
** ALL magazines checked out on the same day must be returned before additional magazines can be checked out.
Fines are NOT charged for days when the Library is closed.
Materials (except Launchpad Tablets) may be returned in the curbside return located at the back of the building.
There will be a $5.00 fee assessed for each Launchpad returned via the book/AV return.
Items (except magazines) may be renewed twice, providing the title is not on reserve for another patron. Items may be renewed online or by phone during regular library hours. Magazines may not be renewed. The staff reserves the right to restrict renewals on books that are in high demand (i.e., best sellers, school assignments, holiday books, etc.). Renewal requests made via email or left on the Library’s voicemail system cannot be guaranteed.
There is a 10-book limit per card. In addition, patrons may check out 10 eBooks or digital audiobooks per card plus unlimited digital magazines via Camellia Net.
Non-fiction books are limited to 2 books per subject for each family. Further restrictions may be deemed necessary by library staff due to school assignments, etc.
Audiovisuals are limited to 3 audiobooks and 3 DVDs per card (this is in addition to the 10 book limit).
One Playaway Launchpad tablet may be checked per adult card.
Patrons may also check out 5 magazines per card. (The most current issue of a magazine may NOT be checked out.) All magazines checked out on the same day must be returned before additional magazines can be checked out. Patrons may also check out unlimited digital magazines through Camellia Net.
Reference books may not circulate.
Patrons will be charged the replacement cost of the item plus a $3.00 processing fee for most items; there is a $5.00 processing fee for a Launchpad Tablet. When a patron pays for a lost or damaged item, an overdue fine will not be charged.
Refunds may be granted on items found and returned within 6 months of their original due date. The processing fee is non-refundable.